A community newsletter serving New Melle, Defiance, Augus​ta, Marthasville, Dutzow​​ a​nd surrounding areas.

21st Augusta Plein Air Festival Winners

The 21st Augusta Plein Air Festival concluded on Saturday, May 4, with the final awards and sales. The Festival, which began on April 25, saw the participation of 98 artists from 11 different states and the sale of over 240 paintings. The Festival featured “paint out” areas each day for the artists with themes including cliffs & streams, hidden waterways and nocturnes. The awards were held in the Augusta Town Square, and this year’s Best of Show artist Paul Schaefer won for his painting “Nahm Road Barn.” The following are the winners in pastel, watercolor, oil, and acrylic:


Pastel: (L-R)
3rd – “Sisters on the Hill” – Allison Laupp
(held by her daughter)

1st – “Dusk at Callaway Fork” Allison Laupp
Honorable Mention – “Confetti Forest” –Deb Williams
2nd – “Lavender” Katherine Martinez

watercolor 1.jpg

Watercolor: (L-R)
Honorable Mention – “Historic Augusta” – Denny Dowdy
3rd – “At the Bottoms” – Larry Siwek
2nd - “Where Have They Gone Too” – Alex Hamil
1st – “Bridge Over Tuque Creek” – Gary Beazley


Oil: (L-R)
1st – “Nahm Road Barn” – Paul Schaefer
2nd – “Crazy Town” – Anne Molasky
Honorable Mention – “Luna Light” – Sarah Lorentz
Honorable Mention – “Take Me to Gauguin” – Troy Tatlock
3rd – “Golden Hour Reflection” – Carlos Maldonado


Acrylic: (L-R)
Honorable Mention – “Your Word is Light” – Jamie Green
3rd – “Bank of Washington” – Carlos Maldonado
1st – “Coming Rain” – Farley Lewis
2nd – “Quiet Day” – Farley Lewis (held by Lynn Buchhiet)

peoples choice.jpg

People’s Choice - “Dusk on Callaway Fork” Allison Laupp 

artists choice.jpg

Artists’ Choice - “Femme Osage Creek”
Naomi Tiry Salgado

best of show.jpg

Best of Show - “Nahm Road Barn” – Paul Schaefer 

The artists who participated in this year's festival were truly outstanding and did not disappoint. The judges had their work cut out for them this year. The current all-volunteer committee of nine has been working together for the past seven years, continuing the hard work and dedication of those who volunteered before them. The co-chairs are Lynn Buchheit and Cindy Kedroski. The committee includes Kate Aufderheide, Vicki Gwinn, Susie Snyders, Ann Struckhoff, Ranko Radoman, Kathleen Turner, and JoAnn Milster.

The committee would like to thank all sponsors, donors, volunteers, and those who provided accommodations and meals for the artists. Thanks to the artists and everyone who attended the events and supported the artists by purchasing their work.

The Augusta Plein Air Festival proceeds support the Greater Augusta Chamber of Commerce and its community work.