Governor Mike Parson recently signed legislation enacted by the Missouri Legislature that modifies age requirements for marriage licenses in Missouri effective Aug. 28, 2018.
Senate Bill 655 prohibits marriage licenses from being issued if either party is under 16 years of age.
Additionally, the legislation prohibits the marriage of any individual age 21 or older to anyone under age 18. Parental consent will still be required for applicants 16 or 17 years of age to marry within the constraints of this new law.
Recorders of Deeds are committed to permanently archiving records, including marriage licenses, with the utmost care and consistency. As with any statutory change, the St. Charles County Recorder of Deeds office will update its policies effective Aug. 28, 2018, to reflect this new law. All marriage license applicants will be required to provide proof of age to the Recorder of Deeds through a current government-issued photo ID. The Recorder will document this proof of age.
Questions about the upcoming changes to marriage license requirements may be directed to the St. Charles County Recorder of Deeds office at 636-949-7506.