Community Interest

Voting for Cuivre River Electric Cooperative’s Board of Directors opened July 15

Voting for candidates to fill four, three-year term seats on Cuivre River Electric Cooperative’s (CREC) Board of Directors opened on July 15.

Candidates are as follows (incumbents have an asterisk following their name)

  • Lincoln County District 1: Mike Cherry, Christopher F. Williams
  • Warren County District 3: Michael Daniels, Al Herter, Phil Dunk*
  • Charles County District 4: Michael W. MacCormack, Denise O’Mara*, Bob Shive
  • Charles County District 5: Frank Sgroi, Michael W. Donnelly, Ted House* 

The voting process is being handled by the independent firm of Survey and Ballot Systems (SBS), based in Eden Prairie, Minn. 

Candidate bios are available when voting via a secure internet site, by paper ballot or in person. Bios are available on the CREC website ( and will also be published in the August issue of Current Times/Rural Missouri. Members may vote online until 11:59 p.m. on August 24, or by paper ballot which must be received at SBS by the close of business on August 24. Members also have the option to vote in person at the CREC’s Annual Meeting at 4 p.m. on Thursday, August 27 at the cooperative’s Lake Saint Louis branch office. 

While members are welcome to attend the Annual Meeting on August 27, the meeting will also be streamed live online to view. To access, please visit the home page of our website, on August 27.

A reminder for members who choose to attend the meeting in person – the format of the meeting, which was modified starting last year – means that there will not be any food, entertainment or registration gifts. However, all members who cast a vote (online, paper or in person) will be entered into a drawing for free electricity. Attendance at the meeting is not required to be eligible for voting participation prizes; the winners of these prizes will be announced in the week following the meeting. The complete slate of winners will also be posted in CREC’s monthly newsletter, Current Times, on the CREC website, social media channels, and in CREC Connections, the cooperative’s e-newsletter. 

“There is still opportunity to win prizes – if you vote,” said Kevin Hurd, manager of administrative services. “Members do not have to attend the annual meeting to win. They simply need to vote.” 

For further information, contact Kevin Hurd, manager of administra­tive services, or Chris Ryan, manager of member services and IT, to confirm eligibility and learn more about serving as a director. Contact Kevin at 636-695-4871/email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Chris at 636-695-4831/email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Cuivre River Electric Cooperative
Founded in 1941, Cuivre River Electric Cooperative is the largest of Missouri's 40 consumer-owned electric distribution cooperatives, providing electricity to more than 68,000 homes and businesses in Lincoln, Pike, St. Charles and Warren counties in Missouri. For information visit or call 800-392-3709.