Five Francis Howell Students Selected for Missouri Scholars 100

Five high school seniors from the Francis Howell School District have been selected for recognition as part of the 2018 Missouri Scholars 100, a program that honors 100 of Missouri’s highest achieving students.

Jennifer Ferry from Francis Howell Central, Claire Frank and Erin Zhang from Francis Howell High, and Noah Slaughter and Caitlind Walker from Francis Howell North were among the elite students selected this year. Zach Miller from Francis Howell Central is an honorable mention scholar. 

Jennifer Ferry at FHC is a class officer and member of National Honor Society. She is active in the chamber show choir and journalism programs. She is also a competitive tennis player, a member of Epsilon Beta, the Literary Club, and active in drama/theater. 

Claire Frank at FHHS is first in her class, scored a 35 on the ACT, and is a National Merit Finalist. She is a member of National Honor Society, Student Council, World Language Club, and Book Club. She has participated in Project Lead the Way engineering classes all four years of high school. Erin Zhang ranks second in her class and scored a 35 on the ACT. She is involved in drama/theater, choir, Mu Alpha Theta, National Honor Society, Scholar Quiz, and speech and debate. She has also been a participant in both the Missouri Scholars Academy and the Missouri Fine Arts Academy. 

Noah Slaughter is the managing editor for the North Star Newspaper, where he has accumulated numerous awards. He is a member of National Honor Society, and participates in speech and debate, marching band, and was also a MO 100 Scholar in 2016. Caitlind Walker is ranked first in her class and is a National Merit Semifinalist. She is class president and a member of Mu Alpha Theta, National Honors Society, speech and debate team and the girl’s golf team. 

Missouri Scholars 100 is sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals. Schools are invited to nominate two candidates for recognition. Each student nominated has to first meet the criteria of an Academic Decathlon, which includes 10 events designed to test the academic strength of each student. To be selected as a member of Missouri Scholars 100, students must have a minimum 3.75 GPA, have a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1900, be ranked in the upper ten percent of the class, and have taken upper-level courses in mathematics, science, English, and a foreign language.